9911 Seminole Blvd. Seminole, FL 33772       Ph. 727-397-5563   View TBN's FREE e-Edition today!  
Click here to learn more
Pinellas County Facebook Twitter
Pinellas names EMS Professionals of the Year
Article published on
  Print E-Mail
Photo courtesy of Pinellas County Communications
Accepting awards at the May 6 Pinellas County Commission meeting are, from left, Commission Chair Karen Seel; emergency medical dispatchers Patrick Lavender and Rebecca Rogers; Pinellas County Employees Federal Credit Union executives Gina Signor and Evelyn Molina; Terri Griffin, Emergency Medical Dispatcher of the Year; Jay Horne, Emergency Medical Technician of the Year; Christopher Eisenhardt, Paramedic of the Year; and Bruce Moeller, interim chief of staff for Pinellas County.
CLEARWATER - Pinellas County Commissioners named the 2014 Emergency Medical Services Professionals of the Year during the May 6 meeting.   

The awards are given each year in May in honor of EMS Week, locally commemorating the EMS professionals working for the county’s emergency medical services system.

This year’s Paramedic of the Year is SWAT Paramedic Chris Eisenhardt.

“We want to be the best,” Eisenhardt said. “We want to make sure that our head is focused and we are on point at all times.” 

Sunstar EMT Jay Horne was named Emergency Medical Technician of the Year.

“We are highly dedicated, highly professional and highly trained,” Horne said. “That is hands down the most important part of the system.”

Pinellas County 911 Telecommunicator Terri Griffin was named Emergency Medical Dispatcher of the Year. Griffin and her teammates were instrumental in locating a stroke patient who was unable to provide paramedics his location.

“We don’t do it for the honor or the glory,” Griffin said. “We just do it because we want to help people.” 

The award recipients each received a plaque and a cash award from the Pinellas Federal Credit Union.

A special video profiling the award winners is available at

EMS Week is celebrated nationally each May by the American College of Emergency Physicians. The theme of this year’s celebration is “Dedicated for Life.”
Article published on
Copyright © Tampa Bay Newspapers: All rights reserved.
Printable Version E-mail article
Community Focus Online
Featured Print Advertisers
Oakhurst & East Bay Medical
13020 Park Blvd., Seminole
(727) 393-3404
3800 East Bay Dr., Largo
(727) 539-0505

Web site        View Ad
Senior Health Care Solutions

(866) 633-4427

Web site        View Ad
Bell Hearing Instruments, Inc.
801 West Bay Dr., Suite 405, Largo (727) 585-2675
Factory Location
700 Stevens Ave., Oldsmar (813) 814-2355

Web site        View Ad
Omega Gamma Delta Fraternity
Looking for Alumni
Contact Mark Quering
Beta Chi 1972

Web site        View Ad
NuSmile Dental
13611 Park Blvd., Suite G
(727) 475-7866

Web site        View Ad
US Ammo Depot
118 E. Tarpon Ave, Suite 208, Tarpon Springs
(727) 940-8636

Web site        View Ad
Abbey Carpet & Floor of Largo
13120 66th St. N.
(727) 524-1445

Web site        View Ad
Law Office of Stephen C. Whalen, P.A.
1968 Bayshore Blvd., Dunedin
(727) 726-0439
(727) 409-7347(Cell)

Web site        View Ad
Custom Couture of Tarpon Springs
208 East Tarpon Ave., Tarpon Springs
(727) 238-7194

Web site        View Ad
Tarpon Springs Recreation Division
Zombie Run, 10/17
Coastal Cleanup, 10/7
Trunk or Treat, 10/31

Web site        View Ad
Tarpon Springs Merchants Association

Oct. 15 - 18

Web site        View Ad
Flooring America
9012 Seminole Blvd., Seminole
(727) 397-5509
100 Patricia Ave., Dunedin
(727) 733-1356

Web site        View Ad
Florida Center for Back & Neck Pain
Dr. Greg Hollstrom
11444 Seminole Blvd.
(727) 393-6100

Web site        View Ad
Five Fish Boutique
735 Dodecanese Blvd, Suite 1, Tarpon Springs
(727) 485-8660

Web site        View Ad
Tampa Bay Newspapers
Online Advertising
For information, e-mail
Online Services Directory
Tampa Bay Newspapers
9911 Seminole Blvd.,
Seminole, FL 33772
Phone: (727) 397-5563
Fax: (727) 397-5900
Submit News