Steak-n-Shake Coupons
  9911 Seminole Blvd. Seminole, FL 33772       Ph. 727-397-5563   View TBN's FREE e-Edition today!  
Click here to learn more
Beach Beacon
St. Pete Beach picks Lowe for mayor
Voters pick the newcomers to serve on commission
Article published on Tuesday, March 11, 2014
  Print E-Mail
Mayor Maria Lowe, St. Pete Beach Commission District 1 Terri Finnerty and St. Pete Beach Commission District 3 Gregory Premer.
ST. PETE BEACH – Three newcomers will lead the city of St. Pete Beach. The city's voters elected a new mayor and two new commissioners during the March 11 municipal election.

Maria Lowe defeated incumbent Steve McFarlin to take over the mayor's job. Terri Finnerty defeated incumbent Lorraine Huhn for the District 1 commission seat. Gregory Premer took in the most votes against fellow newcomer James Anderson for the District 3 seat held by Ward Friszolowski, who served as interim commissioner after Marvin Shavlan moved outside the city.

According to unofficial results posted on the Supervisor of Elections website, in the mayor’s race, Lowe received 2,047 votes, 52.41 percent. McFarlin took in 1,859 votes, 47.59 percent.

In the race for District 1 commissioner, Finnerty received 460 votes, 51.34 percent. Huhn garnered 436 votes, 48.66 percent. Premer took in the most votes, 547, or 54.43 percent for the District 3 seat. Anderson received 458 votes, 45.57 percent.

St. Pete Beach voters cast 3,906 votes in the mayor’s race, 896 for commissioner District 1 and 1,005 for commissioner District 3. Voters had returned 72.8 percent of 1,634 mail ballots requested as of March 10. Thirty-three took advantage of early voting. In the race for District 1, 71.5 percent of 854 mail ballots distributed were returned, and 20 voted early. In District 3, 71.4 percent of 923 mail ballots were returned as of March 10 and 19 took advantage of early voting.

St. Pete residents also joined with joined with others in Pinellas County to pick a new representative for District 13 in the U.S. Congress. Republican David Jolly defeated challengers Democrat Alex Sink and Libertarian Lucas Overby. He will fill the seat left vacant after former Rep. C.W. “Bill” Young died Oct. 18.

According to Elections Administrator Nancy Whitlock, counts from the provisional ballots will be added. The unofficial results also do not contain all mail ballots or 10-day overseas ballots.

Official election results cannot be certified until votes from the 10-day overseas ballots are added to unofficial results, and the earliest that can occur is the 10th day after the election. The deadline to certify official election results is noon on the 12th day after the election.

For more election information, visit
Article published on Tuesday, March 11, 2014
Copyright © Tampa Bay Newspapers: All rights reserved.
Printable Version E-mail article
Featured Print Advertisers
Florida Center for Back & Neck Pain
Dr. Greg Hollstrom
11444 Seminole Blvd.
(727) 393-6100

Web site        View Ad
NuSmile Dental
13611 Park Blvd., Suite G
(727) 475-7866

Web site        View Ad
Custom Couture of Clearwater
(727) 735-8407
By appointment please.

Web site        View Ad
Flooring America of Seminole
9012 Seminole Blvd.
(727) 397-5509

Web site        View Ad
Oakhurst & East Bay Medical
13020 Park Blvd., Seminole
(727) 393-3404
3800 East Bay Dr., Largo
(727) 539-0505

Web site        View Ad
Abbey Carpet & Floor of Largo
13120 66th St. N.
(727) 524-1445

Web site        View Ad
Tampa Bay Newspapers
Online Advertising
For information, e-mail
Online Services Directory
TBN 27/7
Tampa Bay Newspapers
9911 Seminole Blvd.,
Seminole, FL 33772
Phone: (727) 397-5563
Fax: (727) 397-5900
Submit News