9911 Seminole Blvd. Seminole, FL 33772       Ph. 727-397-5563   View TBN's FREE e-Edition today!  
Click here to learn more
Beach Beacon Facebook Twitter
Recount coming for Indian Shores election
See related stories
Article published on
  Print E-Mail
INDIAN SHORES – Results from the March 11 municipal election in Indian Shores has triggered a machine and manual recount.

According to the unofficial results posted on the Supervisor of Elections website, Michael “Mike” Petruccelli defeated Diantha Schear by only two votes.

Elections Administrator Nancy Whitlock said results in which a candidate is defeated by less than ˝ percent require a recount per state law. Results closer than a Ľ percent require a manual recount.

The Elections Office announced Wednesday afternoon that the Pinellas County Canvassing Board would conduct a machine recount and a manual recount for the town of Indian Shores. The recounts will be done Friday at 9 a.m. at the Supervisor of Elections Office, 13001 Starkey Road in Largo.

The board also will canvass provisional ballots, write-in votes and certify the unofficial results.

Voters had three new names to choose from during the March 11 Municipal Election after Indian Shores Councilors Carole Irelan and Steve Sutch retired.

Patrick Soranno garnered 332 votes, 34.62 percent. Petruccelli received 315 votes, 32.81 percent. Diantha Schear brought in 313 votes, 32.60 percent.

Results showed that 959 voters took part in the election. Indian Shores voters had returned 66.1 percent of 563 mail ballots requested as of March 10. Fifteen cast their ballots during early voting.

Indian Shores residents also joined with most of Pinellas County to pick a new representative for District 13 in the U.S. Congress. Republican David Jolly defeated challengers Democrat Alex Sink and Libertarian Lucas Overby. He will fill the seat left vacant after former Rep. C.W. “Bill” Young died Oct. 18.

Official election results cannot be certified until votes from the 10-day overseas ballots are added to unofficial results, and the earliest that can occur is the 10th day after the election. The deadline to certify official election results is noon on the 12th day after the election.

For more election information, visit votep­inell­­m.

Related Stories:
Article published on
Copyright © Tampa Bay Newspapers: All rights reserved.
Printable Version E-mail article
Featured Print Advertisers
Flooring America
9012 Seminole Blvd., Seminole
(727) 397-5509
100 Patricia Ave., Dunedin
(727) 733-1356

Web site        View Ad
Tarpon Springs Recreation Division
2017 Sunset Beach Concert Series
Web site        View Ad
Custom Couture of Tarpon Springs
208 East Tarpon Ave.
Tarpon Springs
(727) 238-7194

Web site        View Ad
Abbey Carpet & Floor of Largo
13120 66th St. N.
(727) 524-1445

Web site        View Ad
Oakhurst & East Bay Medical
13020 Park Blvd., Seminole
(727) 393-3404
3800 East Bay Dr., Largo
(727) 539-0505

Web site        View Ad
Florida Center for Back & Neck Pain
Dr. Greg Hollstrom
11444 Seminole Blvd.
(727) 393-6100

Web site        View Ad
Tampa Bay Newspapers
Online Advertising
For information, e-mail
Online Services Directory
Tampa Bay Newspapers
9911 Seminole Blvd.,
Seminole, FL 33772
Phone: (727) 397-5563
Fax: (727) 397-5900
Submit News