Bowling for Soup plays Jannus Live June 20.

ST. PETERSBURG — Bowling for Soup and Reel Big Fish will perform Thursday, June 20, 6 p.m., at Jannus Live, 16 Second St. N., St. Petersburg.

Tickets are $26.50 in advance and $28 at the door. Call 727-565-0550 or visit www.jannuslive.com.

Bowling for Soup, a larger than life Texas band, is known for its infectious power pop music. For more than two decades, the band has taken its hometown sound and drilled it in the hearts of fans all over the world.

Since forming in 1994, those who listen to BFS have found it easy to relate to the characters in the band, including singer Jaret Reddick, guitarist Chris Burney, bassist Rob Felicetti and drummer Gary Wiseman.

In 2016, the band released “Drunk Dynasty,” a short, sharp collection of uplifting, tongue-in-cheek and fun pop punk. From lamenting on a relationship as only Bowling for Soup can with the opening “She Used to Be Mine” through to the thoughtful, sad yet uplifting closing track “Drinkin’ Beer on a Sunday,” the album has something for almost everyone.

According to Earshot Media, Reel Big Fish was one of the legions of Southern California ska-punk bands to edge into the mainstream following the mid-1990s success of No Doubt and Sublime.

The band was distinguished by their hyperkinetic stage shows, juvenile humor, ironic covers of new wave pop songs, and metallic shards of ska. The group cultivated an underground following that broke into the mainstream in summer 1997 when their single “Sell Out” became a modern rock radio and MTV favorite.

Reel Big Fish recorded its self-released debut album “Everything Sucks” in 1995. “Everything Sucks” became a word-of-mouth underground hit in ska-punk and college circles, which gave the band enough leverage to sign with the indie label Mojo Records.

In 1998 the song “Take on Me” from the “Baseketball” motion picture soundtrack was released as the promotional single for the movie and once again found the band in regular rotation on rock radio and MTV. The album “Why Do They Rock So Hard” followed a year later, enlisting Oingo Boingo bassist John Avila as producer. The album was not as commercially successful but is still regarded by many fans as the band’s finest work.

The guys wound up on Jive Records in fall 2001 when their current label, Mojo, was bought by Jive’s parent label, Zomba. Reel Big Fish’s first release for Jive, a more rock-oriented record entitled “Cheer Up!”, appeared in mid-2002. This album was very successful in Europe with the video for the single “Where Have You Been” receiving heavy airplay on many music video channels.

In 2018, the band released “Life Sucks ... Let’s Dance,” their eighth studio album, on Rock Ridge Music. Now, Reel Big Fish are finding themselves with a new focus and a renewed sense of purpose, as well as a happier outlook on life.

“We started recording the album in January 2018 and really took our time with it,” said frontman Aaron Barrett in a press release. “Our friend and engineer David Irish just finished building his new studio — Pot of Gold — in Orange, California, and we loved how everything sounds there. Recording the album with this lineup was really fun. We all get along really well these days and everybody was excited to make a new record. Everybody had lots of great ideas and really got creative with everything and I really think it shows.”

Current bandmembers include Barrett, John Christianson, Derek Gibbs, Matt Appleton and Edward Larsen.