Search / 19 results found


Seminole Mayor Leslie Waters, Vice Mayor Trish Springer, Councilor Thom Barnhorn and Councilor Jim Quinn were among more than 100 municipal officials recognized by the Florida League of Cities with the 2019 Home Rule Hero Award.

City councilors appointed Sharon Spohn to replace Bob Castles on Seminole’s Charter Review Committee at its Feb. 26 meeting. She joins Patricia Couglin, John Counts, Trish Haynes, Berny Jacques, Rose Mary Mills and Ann Pici on the committee, which is appointed every five years to review the city’s charter.

Castles, who has previously sat on the committee, resigned after Mayor Leslie Waters and Councilor Chris Burke expressed concern about several individuals nominated at the Feb. 12 council meeting.

City residents have less than a week to cast their vote for state, county and city leaders. Election Day is Tuesday, Nov. 6, while early voting is an option through Sunday, Nov. 4. At the city level, five candidates are running for two Seminole City Council seats that are up for grabs.